Havana once again became host to the world’s runners this Sunday, November 20, with record participation in the 30th edition of the Marabana marathon.

Cubans Henry Jaen and Misleidys Vargas were the protagonists of this authentic party in the streets of the capital, after they took the lead to become the marathon male and female winners, respectively.

Henry crossed the finish line, in front of the Capitolio building, with a time of 2:34:29, followed by Yumier Fouman (2:36:20) and Alien Reyes (2:39.24).

The winner of the 42 kilometers, 195 meters race said he felt comfortable, and was determined to maintain his pace to win. This was the fourth win in the competition for the athlete from Santiago, after finishing first in the 2006, 2007 and 2013 editions.

Meanwhile, Misleidys Vargas clocked a time of 3:06:09 to comfortably win the women’s competition. “I had some discomfort in my left foot that began to hurt at kilometer 33, I was getting cramps, but I kept going regardless. I never wanted to stop,” she stated.

The runner from Artemisa was seconded on the podium by Inez-Anne Haagen (3:11:22) of Holland and the Cuban Lizandra Gomez (3:18:22).

Both Havana winners will be invited by Air France to participate in the Paris Marathon.

Another highlight was the performance of Havana’s Richer Pérez, winner of the half marathon for the sixth consecutive occasion. Richer completed the distance of 21 kilometers, 97 meters in 1:06:19, followed by Yuleidys La O (1:08:10) and Luis Ángel Martínez (1:10:23).

Also participating was the four times winner of the marathon, Jorge Luis Suarez, running in this category as he is due to take part in the XL Panama City International Marathon next Friday, November 25.

The success of Marabana 2016 was ratified by Pedro Rumbao, president of the MAPOMA Foundation and director general of the Madrid Marathon. He told Granma that this year has seen both a quantitative and a qualitative leap forward with respect to previous editions, as a result of collaboration between this organization and Cuban authorities.

“In our line of work we expect that in 2017 this race will have more than 2,500 international runners, a figure that will have a significant economic impact on the city,” Rumbao noted.


Marathon (42.195km) – MEN

   Henrry Jaen Ortiz — 2h:34:29

   Yumier Fouman Santiesteban — 2h:36:20

   Alien Reyes Ramirez — 2h:39.24

Marathon – WOMEN

   Misleidys Vargas — 3h:06:09

   Inez-Anne Haagen — 3h:11:22

   Lizandra Gomez — 3h:18:22

Half Marathon (21.097km) – MEN

   Richer Pérez — 1h:06:19

   Yuleidys La O — 1h:08:10

   Luis Ángel Martínez — 1h:10:23

Half Marathon – WOMEN

   Yudileyvis Castillo — 1h:17:58

   Maryam Aliyah — 1h:18:59

   Milena Pérez — 1h:21:04

10km – MEN

   Francisco Rodney Estevez — 0h:32:35

   Víctor Manuel Herrera — 0h:34:07

   Jorge Ezequiel Torres — 0h:34:57

10km – WOMEN

   Yumileydis Mestre — 0h:40:44

   Tamara Camelia Milanés — 0h:41:27

   Yadira Peña — 0h:41:37