Photo: Estudio Revolución

Army General Raúl Castro Ruz, First Secretary of the Communist Party of Cuba Central Committee and President of Cuba's Councils of State and Ministers, on March 29 received comrade Nguyen Phu Trong, Secretary General of the Communist Party of Vietnam, who was making an official visit to our country.

In a fraternal, amicable environment, the two leaders reviewed the excellent state of bilateral relations and reaffirmed their historic character. They likewise expressed their will to continue the high level political dialogue, and advance comprehensive cooperation in a variety of areas, as well as their intention to strengthen exchanges between the two parties, on the two countries respective processes of constructing socialism. They also addressed multi-lateral and regional issues of mutual interest.

During the meeting, recalled was the first visit to Vietnam made by Comandante en Jefe Fidel Castro Ruz in 1973, which included areas recently liberated, the 45th anniversary of which is being commemorated this year.

Following the official talks, Army General Raúl Castro was awarded the Golden Star Order, the highest decoration granted by the Socialist Republic of Vietnam.

Thereafter, several important agreements of a government and enterprise nature were signed.

Accompanying the distinguished guest were Political Bureau members Tong Thi Phong, permanent vice president of the National Assembly; and Pham Binh Minh, minister of Foreign Affairs; as well as Nguyen Van Nen, member of the Secretariat and head of the Communist Party of Vietnam Central Committee's office; Hoang Binh Quan, member of the Communist Party of Vietnam Central Committee and president of its Foreign Relations Committee; and other members of the delegation.

Present on the Cuban side were Political Bureau members José Ramón Machado Ventura, second secretary of the Communist Party of Cuba Central Committee and a vice president of the Councils of State and Ministers; Miguel Díaz-Canel Bermúdez, First Vice President of the Councils of State and Ministers; and Foreign Minister Bruno Rodríguez Parrilla; plus José Ramón Balaguer Cabrera, member of the Central Committee Secretariat and head of its International Relations Department; Rodrigo Malmierca Díaz, minister of Foreign Trade and Investment; Elba Rosa Pérez Montoya, minister of Science, Technology and Environment; as well as Lyannis Torres Rivera, ambassador in Vietnam.